Board of Trustees

The responsibility of the Wisconsin Conference Board of Trustees is to oversee the use of conference-owned real and personal property, to review property and liability insurance, to manage some conference investments, and to participate in certain legal matters. The Book of Discipline, state statutes, and the Wisconsin Annual Conference rules direct the work of the Trustees.

Church Facilities Policies

Local churches in the Wisconsin Conference will meet recommended minimum standards for plumbing, electricity, handicap accessibility, etc. according to Conference Policy 130.1.1. Also, all local churches in the Conference are required to be insured under the Conference-Wide Insurance Program which includes multi-peril property and liability insurance and umbrella insurance.

View Church Facilities Policies (PDF) according to our 2017 Conference Journal.

Parsonage Worksheet - 2020

Groat Rural Ministry Accessibility Grant

The Wisconsin Conference Board of Trustees administers a bequest from the Groat Family. Grants are available to rural churches who are undertaking a capital/physical building improvement that addresses accessibility. Up to $10,000 in matching funds is available and applications are accepted throughout the year. Grants are approved in January, April, July and October.

View brochure (PDF) or e-mail with questions.

Church Mutual Insurance Company

Every four years the Board of Trustees issues a Request for Proposals (RFPs) to insurance companies for the purpose of reviewing the Conference-Wide Insurance Program and ensuring that the company selected provides the best insurance coverage and service to the Annual Conference while also remaining cost effective. Church Mutual Insurance Company was renewed as the provider of our Conference insurance in 2016. 

Visit their website which includes information on submitting claims as well as safety resources.

Trustee Leadership

According to the Book of Discipline the board shall consist of twelve persons, and it is recommended that one-third be clergy, one-third laywomen, and one-third laymen. The trustees annually elect a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer and meet quarterly in January, April, July and October.

Chairperson: Rev. Paul Gregersen
Vice-Chairperson: Rev. Francois Russell
Secretary: Irene Steinl
Treasurer: Sarah Sneider