General and Jurisdictional Conferences

In a meaningful worship service and before hundreds of United Methodists from across the North Central Jurisdiction, the four newly elected episcopal leaders were consecrated Saturday morning and officially assumed the title of “Bishop.” Just before hands were laid on the four new bishops and Bishop Gregory V. Palmer led a prayer of consecration, they committed to encourage and support all baptized people in their gifts and ministries, pray for them without ceasing, proclaim and interpret to them the gospel of Christ, and celebrate with them the sacraments of our redemption. “Feed the flock of Christ; defend them in Christ’s truth,” said Bishop Sally Dyck after the laying on of hands. “Be to the people a prophetic voice and a courageous leader. Be to the flock of Christ a shepherd; support the weak, heal the sick, bind up the broken, restore the outcast, seek the lost, and relieve the oppressed.” Click here to read the full story from Christa Meland, Minnesota UMC.

In addition, episcopal assignments for 2016-2020 were announced. Bishop Jung will be returning to serve as Wisconsin’s episcopal leader for another four years. The remainder of the appointments are as follows:

  • Dakotas Minnesota – Bishop Bruce R. Ough
  • East Ohio – Bishop Tracy S. Malone
  • Illinois Great Rivers – Bishop Frank J. Beard
  • Indiana – Bishop Julius Trimble
  • Iowa – Bishop Laurie Haller
  • Michigan – Bishop David A. Bard
  • Northern Illinois – Bishop Sally Dyck
  • West Ohio – Bishop Gregory Palmer