The 2018 Annual Conference session adopted the following motion to support the work of the Wisconsin Delegation to the February special called General Conference: “There be a Consultation Committee formed for the WI AC delegation to the 2019 General Conference. This Consultation Committee would consist of three to six persons from the members of the LGBTQ community of the UMC in Wisconsin. They would be present at all delegation meetings and, if possible, on-site at General Conference 2019. The purpose of the Consultation Committee would be to raise questions that would help articulate the nuances in the legislation in how it affects LGBTQ persons.”

The Delegation is working with the maker of the motion, the Rev. Lynn Scott, to identify the membership of the Consultation Committee.

Though action was only taken to establish a Consultation Committee representative of the LGBTQ community, there will be multiple opportunities for other constituencies to meet with Delegation members. During the September 10-November 16 timeframe, the Delegation will be hosting up to eight educational and listening sessions around the state, primarily on Saturdays and weekday evenings. These sessions for interested clergy and laity will each last between 60-90 minutes. Watch future issues of ENews for announcement of the dates, times and locations.

In addition, invitations have been extended to the Conference boards, agencies and related groups to provide feedback to Delegation members. Those meetings or written responses will offer their members opportunity to provide thoughts, feedback, concerns, and reactions to the three options identified by the Commission on a Way Forward, which resulted in the Council of Bishop’s recommendation of the One Church Plan.

The purpose of all this information gathering is for the Delegation to hear from the diversity of membership that makes up Wisconsin United Methodism, and better understand the thinking and feeling of our Wisconsin Conference. By July 8, 2018, the full report of the commission explaining the three possible plans, and detailing the bishops’ One Church Plan recommendation, will be released globally. The report will subsequently be posted on the Wisconsin Conference website.

The Wisconsin Conference Delegation to the 2019 General Conference consists of six voting delegates, along with reserves. Clergy are Dan Dick, Sam Royappa, Steve Zekoff and first reserve Amanda Stein. Lay delegates are Lisa King, Barbara Dick, Gail Burgess and first reserve Katie Crise. Our additional reserves would serve should any of these eight be unable to attend. In order elected, they are clergy Jorge Mayorga, Dan Schwerin, Jeremy Deaner, George Kafer and Jenny Arneson; laity Tom Popp, Judy Vasby, John Lawson and Julie Schubring. All remain engaged in the Delegation’s preparations for the upcoming General Conference.