The following individuals were recognized for their commitment to advancing missions and evangelism in Wisconsin and around the world with the following awards:

  • Francis Asbury Award was given to Wesley Board of Oshkosh for excellence in campus ministry.
  • Perry Saito Awards were given to two people/groups in recognition of their commitment and dedication to ministries of compassion and social justice: Lisa Jones and Mary Beth Schlagheck
  • Love in Action Award was given to Lianna Daniels in recognition of her excellent ministry through disaster response, relief and recovery.
  • Harry Denman Evangelism Awards were given to three people practicing evangelism in their everyday lives and through the church: Jennah Harrington, Youth; Rev. Scott Carlson, Clergy; and Steve Mayeshiba, Laity
  • Thelma Gregg Mission Award was given to Lianna Daniels for demonstrated Christian commitment in tireless promotion of the missionary outreach of the Church.
  • Lois C. Olsen Ministry of Memory Award was given to Rev. Anthony J. Farina for his excellence in archival and historical work in local churches and our Annual Conference.
  • One Matters Discipleship Award was given to Sugar River UMC/Rev. Dr. Gary Holmes

Additionally, Gail Burgess, Interim Chair of the Wisconsin Board of Global Ministries, congratulated the 22 churches who participated in the Rainbow Covenant, an opportunity to support missions locally, nationally and worldwide. Click here to see a list of those churches.

Each year at Annual Conference, the Commission on Archives and History celebrates length of service to The United Methodist Church at the points of 25 years, 50 years, 60 years, and 70 or more years. The years are counted from the time an individual was first “On Trial,” or from the date of their first appointment in The United Methodist Church or one of our predecessor denominations. This year, the Commission recognized 34 clergy for varying years of service, including nine with 60 or more years, and four with 70 years or more: Kenneth Engelman and C. James Weis with 70 years, Alvin L. Briggs with 71 years, and George Wesley Buchanan with 74 years. Click here for a complete list of the Length of Service honorees.

Lastly, Thomas Kemper presented the Wisconsin Conference with the Advance 2018 Mission Support and Engagement Award from the General Board of Global Ministries; an award that is given to the ten top Conferences in their support of missionaries.