The following individuals were recognized for their commitment to advancing missions and evangelism in Wisconsin and around the world with the following awards:

  • Francis Asbury Award was given to Diane Schumacher for excellence in campus ministry.
  • Perry Saito Awards were given to two people/groups in recognition of their commitment and dedication to ministries of compassion and social justice: Donna Veach, Laity; and Kenosha: First UMC.
  • Love in Action Award was given to Tom Rossmiller in recognition of his excellent ministry through disaster response, relief and recovery.
  • Harry Denman Evangelism Awards were given to two people practicing evangelism in their everyday lives and through the church:  Deb Nulhern, Laity; and Jason Mahnke, Clergy
  • Thelma Gregg Mission Awardswere given to Gwen and Bill Gibson for demonstrated Christian commitment in tireless promotion of the missionary outreach of the Church.

Bishop also recognized Paul Webster for his years of dedicated service as a missionary at Mujila Falls, Zambia. Additionally, Gail Burgess, Interim Chair of the Wisconsin Board of Global Ministries congratulated the 18 churches who participated in the Rainbow Covenant, an opportunity to support missions locally, nationally and worldwide. Click here to see a list of those churches.

Each year at Annual Conference, the Commission on Archives and History celebrates length of service to The United Methodist Church at the points of 25 years, 50 years, 60 years, and 70 or more years.  The years are counted from the time an individual was first “On Trial,” or from the date of their first appointment in The United Methodist Church or one of our predecessor denominations. This year, the Commission recognized 26 clergy for varying years of service, including nine with 60 or more years, and three with 70 years or more: Alvin L. Briggs with 70 years, George Wesley Buchanan  with 73 years, and Marvin A. Schilling with 80 years. Click here for a complete list of the Length of Service honorees.