Annual Conference Awards

Nominations for Annual Awards

The following awards are given at Annual Conference. Nomination deadlines will be announced in early 2020.

Thelma W. Gregg Award

  • One recipient – lay
  • Sponsored by Board of Global Ministries (BGM)

The Thelma W. Gregg Award is given to someone who has demonstrated Christian commitment in tireless promotion of the missionary outreach of the Church. The award includes a financial gift to be designated to an Advance project by the recipient.

(download the application form)

Contact: Mary Balson, 715-495-1213 (c), 920-922-6332 (H)

Harry Denman Award

  • Three recipients (clergy, laity and youth)
  • Sponsored by Connectional Table Resource Team

Denman Awards are given to lay, clergy and youth who are nominated by United Methodists in Wisconsin for their outstanding ministry in the area of evangelism. Harry Denman, in whose memory the award is named, was a lay UM whose personal witness and invitation may have brought more people to Christ and his Church than any other person in the last century. The award is made possible by the Foundation of Evangelism, which was founded in 1949 by Dr. Denman.

(download clergy nomination form, laity nomination form or youth nomination form)

Contact: Becky Mueller, 920-464-0320

Love in Action

  • One recipient – lay or clergy
  • Sponsored by Disaster Response Team of the Board of Global Ministries (BGM)

The Love in Action Award is presented by the Disaster Response Committee to recognize outstanding commitment and passion to God’s mission through disaster response and relief.

Contact: Bud Budzinski, 252-432-2810, 1450 2nd Street, Fennimore, WI 53809

Perry Saito Award

  • One recipient – lay or clergy
  • Sponsored by the Methodist Federation for Social Action (MFSA)

The Perry Saito Award is given by the Wisconsin United Methodist Federation for Social Action to individuals who demonstrate their loyalty to Christ through faith and work to further justice and peace through the United Methodist Church.

Contact: Amanda Stein, 608-338-8240

Francis Asbury Award

  • One recipient – clergy or lay
  • Sponsored by Board of Higher Education and Student Ministry (BHESM)

The Francis Asbury Award is given to persons who have been instrumental in supporting, strengthening, and promoting the church’s work in higher education ministries (in schools, colleges, campus ministries, scholarships, Black College Fund, Africa University) and offer outstanding leadership to help bring awareness to the significance of the church’s higher education ministries.

Contact: Michael Moser, 262-949-6475, W5623 Lakeville Road, Walworth, WI 53184

Lois C. Olsen "Ministry of Memory" Award

  • One recipient – clergy or lay
  • Sponsored by Wisconsin Conference UMC Commission on Archives and History

The Lois C Olsen Ministry of Memory Award is given to recognize and encourage excellence in archival and historical work in our local churches and our Annual Conference. The Lois C. Olsen Ministry of Memory Award is meant to identify and inspire those Wisconsin United Methodists, especially at the level of the local church, who through their efforts have made significant contributions to the preservation of the records and stories that define us as a faith community.

(download award details)

Contact: Jim Droste, 608-935-5451, Lois C. Olsen Ministry of Memory Award, Wisconsin Conference Archives, 750 Windsor St., Sun Prairie, Wisconsin 53590